Annegreet Vlug

Annegreet Vlug (1982) is an internist-endocrinologist specialized in osteoporosis and calcium/phosphate disorders. She received her MD in 2007 (Leiden University) and registered as a specialist in 2018 (Academic Medical Center Amsterdam). Since 2018 she works as a staff member at the Jan van Goyen Medical Center and Onze Lieve Vrouwe Gasthuis in Amsterdam. In 2015 she defended her thesis ‘Neuroendocrine regulation of human bone metabolism’ (University of Amsterdam). During her PhD project, she started a collaboration with prof. Clifford Rosen on bone marrow adiposity and bone metabolism. In 2017, she joined the Rosen lab at the Maine Medical Center Research Institute (MMCRI) in Scarborough, Maine, USA as a postdoctoral researcher funded among others by a prestigious Rubicon Fellowship from the Netherlands Organization for Scientific Research (NWO). Since then, she continued her postdoctoral research projects on endocrine regulation of bone marrow adiposity and bone metabolism, since 2019 affiliated to the Leiden University Medical Center, in collaboration with several research groups in the USA (MMCRI, Harvard Dental School, University of California San Francisco, Columbia University New York) and China (Beijing Jishuitan Hospital). She won several awards for her research and she was elected International Endocrine Scholar by the European Society for Endocrinology in 2017.

She was selected as a member of the Academy of the European Calcified Tissue Society (ECTS) in 2017 and in 2019 she was elected (Co)-Chair of the Academy. She was member of the Scientific Program Committee of the Annual Meeting of the ECTS in 2019 and she is a member of the Corporate Engagement Committee of the ECTS. She is an editor of the HubLE IFMRS learning environment. In addition, she is a member of the Scientific Board of the International Bone Marrow Adiposity Society since 2018 and chair of the BMAS Methodology Working group. Since 2019 she is the Ambassador of the American Society for Bone and Mineral Research (ASBMR) for the Netherlands.